President announces disaster declaration for Mississippi - - Jackson, MS

President announces disaster declaration for Mississippi

Posted: Updated:

JACKSON, MS (WLBT)- President Obama issued a federal disaster declaration for five Mississippi counties. Governor Haley Barbour announced Thursday that residents and business owners of the devastated areas can access federal emergency assistance programs.

"I appreciate the decision by President Obama to declare these counties that suffered tremendous damage as federal disaster areas," Governor Barbour said. 

 The areas that qualify to receive federal aid include the following counties of Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren, and Yazoo.

"Recovering and rebuilding has already begun. This disaster assistance will go a long way to helping our residents rebuild." Governor Barbour encourages residents in the affected areas to call FEMA and apply for disaster assistance.

Residents may register online at
or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA.

©2010 WLBT. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow