Governor requests more federal assistance - - Jackson, MS

Governor requests more federal assistance

Roslyn Anderson - bio | email

JACKSON, MS (WLBT) - Two more counties are added in the request for federal disaster aid Saturday.

Governor Haley Barbour announced that federal assistance will expand to include residents in Monroe and Union counties affected by the April 24th storms.

These additional counties are eligible for individual assistance from FEMA.

They join Attala, Choctaw, Holmes, Warren and Yazoo counties which have already qualified for individual assistance.

Damage assessments continue in Warren, Issaquena and Monroe counties.

The state has also requested individual assistance for Oktibbeha County.

©2010 WLBT. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten  or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly