Congressional primary election winners announced - - Jackson, MS

Congressional primary election winners announced

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI (WLBT) - The results are in Wednesday from Tuesday's primary election for Mississippi's congressional seats.

In the U.S. House District One Republican primary, state Senator Alan Nunnelee has been declared the winner.  He will try to unseat Democrat and incumbent Travis Childers in November.

A winner could not immediately be determined in the Second District Republican primary.  Some poll workers had trouble retrieving information from voting machines.

Bill Marcy and Richard Cook have the most votes but not more than the 50 percent needed to avoid a run-off.

Joel Gill won the District Three Democratic primary.

Gill will face incumbent Gregg Harper and a Reform Party candidate in the general election.

And in South Mississippi's Fourth District Republican primary, Steven Palazzo was declared the winner.

©2010 WLBT. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly