Therriault added to Payton Award watch list - - Jackson, MS

Therriault added to Payton Award watch list

JACKSON, MS (WLBT) - Never in the history of the Walter Payton Award, has a player from Jackson State been the recipient. That could all change this year.

Jackson State Quarterback Casey Therriault has been added to the Walter Payton Award watch list.

The 6-3 QB from Wyoming Park, Michigan, has passed for more than 14 hundred yards in just 4 games, including 12 touchdowns.

The Walter Payton Award is given to the best !-AA player, and the only player from the SWAC to ever win the award was Steve McNair of Alcorn in 1994.

©2010 WLBT. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly