4 Miss. counties added to disaster aid - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

4 Miss. counties added to disaster aid

JACKSON, MS (AP) - Four more Mississippi counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration following last week's killer tornadoes.

Gov. Haley Barbour says residents and business owners in Chickasaw, Choctaw, Neshoba and Webster counties can access federal emergency assistance programs after President Obama approved and expanded Mississippi's federal disaster declaration for severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that affected the state.

On Friday, federal, disaster aid was made available in Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette and Monroe counties.

Barbour says damage assessments are ongoing and more counties may be added to the disaster declaration later.

The counties will receive FEMA Individual Assistance, which provides grants for individuals and families and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Powered by WorldNow