Tourism industry recognized at Hometown Hero and SUMITT Awards - - Jackson, MS

Tourism industry leaders recognized at Hometown Hero and SUMITT Awards

Posted: Updated:
JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

People and businesses bringing money into Jackson were honored Thursday evening.  The best of the best from the capital city's tourism industry were invited to the Jackson Convention and Visitors Bureau's 2011 Hometown Hero and SUMITT Awards. 

The tourism industry supports more than 20,000 jobs and brought in $300 million to the capital city last year.

"The restaurants, the volunteers, the city officials, the different organizations around town that make this massive tourism machine run 'are being recognized' because it takes everyone from the volunteers straight up to the CEO to make it happen.  $300 million in an economy like this is a very big deal," said Marika Cackett, Manager, Communications & Public Relations for Jackson CVB.

·     2011 Attraction of the Year— Smith Robertson Museum & Cultural Center

·     2011 Festival/Event of the Year— USA International Ballet Competition

·     2011 Friend of Tourism— Jeff Good

·     2011 Full Service Hotel of the Year— Old Capitol Inn

·     2011 Limited Service Hotel of the Year— Cabot Lodge Millsaps

·     2011 Restaurant of the Year— Bravo!

Shining Examples

·     John Hardy

·     Downtown Jackson Ambassadors

Industry Employees

·     Rosemary Jalink - Jackson Zoological Park

·     Alice Tisdale - Jackson Advocate

·     Dewight Johnson - Hilton Jackson

·     Diane Shows - Hampton Inn North

·     Tonya Pankey Neely - Mississippi Development Authority/Tourism Division

Meeting Planners

·     Patricia Ford— National Council of Negro Women 2010 Annual State Conference

·     Jack Thomas— Airport Minority Advisory Council Economic Forum

·     Katie Course— Blacks in Government 2010 Region IV Annual Training Conference

·     Shirley Carey —  Gamma Phi Delta Sorority, Inc. Biennial National Boule'

·     Thomas Cheatman, Jr. —  Dixie Youth Baseball AAA Major Division Tournament

·     Tony Gaylor — Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. 79th Southern Region Convention

·     Dr. Juanita Sims Doty — Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 78th Southeastern Regional Conference

Event Planners

·     Heath Aucoin — Jackson Convention Complex

·     Amy Wilson—Wilson Events & Management

·     Clay Williams—Old Capitol Museum 2010 Gathering on the Green

·     Frank Penny Edwards—2010 Mississippi Black Rodeo

©2011 WLBT. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow