Miss. swearing in 7 of 8 statewide officials - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Miss. swearing in 7 of 8 statewide officials

(AP) - Mississippi inaugurates 7 of its eight statewide elected officials Thursday - everyone except the new governor.

A swearing-in ceremony is set for 2 p.m. in the House chamber for Tate Reeves as lieutenant governor, Jim Hood as attorney general, Delbert Hosemann as secretary of state, Lynn Fitch as treasurer, Stacey Pickering as auditor, Cindy Hyde-Smith as agriculture commissioner and Mike Chaney as insurance commissioner.

Hood is starting his third term and is the only Democrat. The others are Republicans.

Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are new to their jobs. Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are beginning their second terms.

At a prayer celebration Thursday in Jackson, ministers from several faiths called on the officials to show strength and unity in working together and form the people of Mississippi.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly