Wicker and 4 Mississippi congressmen inaugurated - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Wicker and 4 Mississippi congressmen inaugurated

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - 1 of Mississippi's U.S. senators and all 4 of its U.S. House members were sworn in Thursday to begin their new terms in Washington.

All were elected in November.

Republican Roger Wicker of Tupelo will serve a 6-year term in the Senate.

The House members serve 2-year terms. They are Democrat Bennie Thompson of Bolton in the Delta's 2nd District and Republicans Alan Nunnelee of Tupelo in the northern 1st District, Gregg Harper of Pearl in the central 3rd District and Steven Palazzo of Biloxi in the southern 4th District.

The state's senior senator, Republican Thad Cochran of Oxford, is beginning the fifth year of his current 6-year term. Cochran was first elected to the Senate in 1978 hasn't said whether he'll seek re-election in 2014.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly