Primary elections in two Hinds County Supervisor Districts - - Jackson, MS

Vote counting continues in Hinds Co. supervisor primaries

HINDS COUNTY, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

Votes are still being counted in the Hinds County supervisor election primaries.

Residents in districts 2 and 4 went to the polls Tuesday to select candidates to finish out the terms of Doug Anderson and Phil Fisher. Anderson died earlier this year, and Fisher resigned after being elected Clinton Mayor.

According to Hinds County Democratic Executive Committee Chairman Claude McGinnis, the votes are still being counted. Preliminary numbers show the top three vote getters in District 2 are Darrell McQuirter with 1331 votes, Willie Robinson with 779 votes and David L. Archie with 549 votes.

In district four, Jerry Hopkins and James Baker are leading the race with 320 and 264 votes respectively.

Tuesday afternoon we received reports that one precinct in Bolton didn't have ballots for about an hour. People were reportedly told to come back later to vote.

Nine candidates were on the ballot for the primary in District 2. All are Democrats. 

  • David L. Archie
  • Dorothy "Dot" Benford
  • W. R. (Bo) Brown
  • Alberta Ross Gibson
  • Leon Jones
  • Gus McCoy
  • Darrel McQuirter
  • William Earl Robinson
  • Theodore "Ted"Williams

Five candidates are on the ballot in District 4.

  • James "Lap" Baker (D)
  • Tony M. Greer (R)
  • Jerry Hopkins (D)
  • Michael Maldonado (D)
  • Alvin Woods (R)

There are two independent candidates running in each district that will be on the November General Election Ballot against the primary winners.

District 2

  • Alphonso Hunter
  • Gwendonlyn Smith

District 4

  • James Ira Duke
  • Dan Smith

Copyright 2013 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly