15 candidates are in the Jackson mayor's race - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

15 candidates are in the Jackson mayor's race

The filing deadline has passed and there are now 15 people running for Jackson mayor. Several candidates filed close to the deadline.

Among the recent filers are:

  • Gwendolyn Ward Osborne Chapman
  • Rodrick Walker
  • John E. Reed
  • Tonya Brooks
  • Tammie Patterson

Others in the race are:

  • Kenneth A. Swarts
  • Albert Wilson
  • Francis P. Smith, Jr.
  • Melvin V. Priester, Jr.
  • Tony Yarber
  • Harvey Johnson
  • Chokwe Antar Lumumba
  • John Horhn
  • Margaret Barrett-Simon
  • Regina Quinn

The special election will be held April 8 and a runoff, if need, will be April 22. WLBT and MSNewsNow.com will televise a mayoral debate live March 27 from 7-9 p.m.

Copyright 2014 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.


Powered by Frankly