UM's Bousfield wins Ferriss Trophy - - Jackson, MS

Ole Miss' Bousfield wins Ferriss Trophy

Auston Bousfield. Source: Auston Bousfield. Source:

Ole Miss center fielder Auston Bousfield named the recipient of the 2014 Ferriss Trophy Monday.Bousfield's 83 hits leads the SEC through the end of the regular season, and his .353 batting average is good for 3rd in the league. 

The Ferriss Trophy is awarded annually to the top collegiate baseball player in Mississippi, and was tightly contested amongst this year's 5 finalists: Bousfield, his Ole Miss teammate Chris Ellis, Mississippi State pitchers Ross Mitchell and Jacob Lindgren, and Belhaven's Tyler Akins.

Bousfield helped lead Ole Miss to the SEC West Division title and a 1st round bye in this week's SEC Tournament.

The Ferriss Trophy is named after the legendary Boo Ferriss, Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer, and is awarded annually to Mississippi's top collegiate baseball player. 

Copyright 2014 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly