Javancy Jones, Jordan Payne, & Cory Carter named BOXTOROW All-Am - - Jackson, MS

Javancy Jones, Jordan Payne, & Cory Carter named BOXTOROW All-Americans

CHARLOTTE ( - Twenty-nine players were selected to the annual BOXTOROW All-America team. BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2007 and the voters are comprised of media members from around the nation that cover HBCU football.

The offense is headlined by North Carolina A&T junior running back Tarik Cohen, who repeats as a BOXTOROW All-American, and Grambling State quarterback Johnathan Williams.  The defense is headlined by top vote getters redshirt-junior linebacker Kourtney Berry of Alabama State and South Carolina State defensive tackle Javon Hargrave.

All four players along with Tuskegee linebacker Jewell Ratliff are up for BOXTOROW National Superlative and Player of the Year awards which will be announced next week.

North Carolina A&T leads all teams with five selections, while Grambling State and Bowie State each had three selections.  Johnson C. Smith, North Carolina Central, Southern and Tuskegee had two apiece.

Cohen was named MEAC Offensive Player of the Year for the second-straight year and leads the MEAC in rushing yards (1,248) and rushing yards per game (113.5) which is also seventh in FCS.  Earlier this year he set the Aggies all-time rushing mark for yards in a career and is less than 1,000 yards away from the all-time MEAC record for rushing yards in a career. Cohen was the 2013 BOXTOROW Rookie of the Year.

Williams was named SWAC Offensive Player of the Year.  He leads the SWAC in passing yards (2,910) and total offense (296.8) and his 39 passing
touchdowns lead FCS.  He has also rushed for 355 yards and four touchdowns.

Berry leads the SWAC and is sixth in the nation in tackles (130) and his 11.8 tackles per game led the SWAC and are fifth in the nation.

As a defensive tackle, Hargrave registered 13.5 sacks which are tied for the second most in FCS. He also has 22 tackles for loss which is second in MEAC and tied for sixth in FCS.

2015 BOXTOROW All-America Team

QB: Johnathan Williams, Grambling State, Sr., Tampa, Fla.
RB: Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T, Jr., Bunn, N.C. $
RB:  Lenard Tillery, Southern, r-Jr., Baton Rouge, La.
OL: Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, r-Soph., Kannapolis, N.C.
OL: Addison Hayes, Virginia Union, Sr., Savannah, Ga.
OL: Carl Jones, North Carolina Central, r-Jr., Nashville, Tenn.
OL: Justin Nester, Bowie State, Jr., Dayton, Md.
OL: Justin Miller, Grambling State, Jr., Ruston, La.
TE: Jordan Payne, Alcorn State, Sr., Racine, Wis.$
WR: Nyme Manns, Bowie State, r-Jr., Baltimore, Md.
WR: TJ Mixon, Hampton, r-Jr., Charlotte, N.C.

DL: Javon Hargrave, South Carolina St., Sr., Salisbury, N.C.$
DL: Javancy Jones, Jackson State, Jr., Macon, Miss.
DL: Marquis Ragland, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., Fayetteville, N.C.
DL: Gabriel Sherrod, Delaware State, Jr., Perryville, Md.
LB: Kourtney Berry, Alabama State, Jr., Merrillville, Ind.$
LB: Jewell Ratliff, Tuskegee, Sr., New Orleans, La.
LB: Austin Jacques, Johnson C. Smith, Sr., Springdale, Md.*
LB: Deon King, Norfolk State, Sr., Reston, Va.*
DB: C.J. Moore, North Carolina Central, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.
DB: Carlo Thomas, Johnson C. Smith, Soph., East Orange, N.J.
DB: Tony McRae, N.C. A&T, Sr., Laurinburg, N.C.
DB: Jonah McCutcheon, Tuskegee, r-Soph., Mobile, Ala.*
DB: Guy Stallworth, Grambling State, Jr., Gulfport, Miss.*

P: Cory Carter, Texas Southern, Sr., Raymond, Miss.
PK: Nick Christiansen, Miles, Soph., Clayton, N.C.
RS: Willie Quinn, Southern, Sr., Miami, Fla.$
PR: Khris Gardin, North Carolina A&T, Soph., Morganton, N.C.
KR: Kendall Jefferson, Bowie State, Gr., Temple Hills, Md.

*Indicates tie
$2014 BOXTOROW All-American

Powered by Frankly