Three more counties eligible for federal assistance - - Jackson, MS

Three more counties eligible for federal assistance

JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared three more Mississippi counties eligible for individual assistance after December 23 tornadoes killed 11 people in the state.
FEMA on Friday said people living in Monroe, Panola and Prentiss counties are eligible for assistance covering costs including temporary housing, uninsured property losses, and low-interest disaster loans.
The federal agency has previously deemed residents of Coahoma, Benton, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties eligible for individual assistance.
FEMA has approved all the counties eligible for individual assistance, plus Clay, Itawamba and Tallahatchie counties, for assistance to governments and certain nonprofits. That public assistance helps pay for debris removal and repairs to or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings and other infrastructure.
Residents can register at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by Frankly