Nearly 50 Mississippi mayors endorse Hillary Clinton presidentia - - Jackson, MS

Nearly 50 Mississippi mayors endorse Hillary Clinton presidential campaign

JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

Less than one week before the March 8 primary, nearly 50 mayors from across Mississippi are announcing their support of Hillary Clinton in the Democratic presidential race.

Jackson Mayor Tony Yarber said, “Hillary Clinton knows how to make it happen. As President, she will give special and needed attention to cities – particularly minority-led cities – and the issues that plague us. She is committed to pushing for creative infrastructure investments and to building on the progress President Obama has made. In my mind, she is the only candidate who can pragmatically achieve important gains for families and communities, and it’s why I’m proud to support her candidacy.”

Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs said, "Hillary Clinton has the experience to make a real difference for Mississippi families. Her proven leadership will help our community in education, jobs, income inequality, and criminal justice reform. I stand behind her as she fights for progress." 

List of Supportive Mayors:

  • Mayor of Aberdeen, Cecil Bell
  • Mayor of Belzoni, Lenora Sutton
  • Mayor of Canton, Arnel D. Bolden
  • Mayor of Charleston, Sedrick Smith
  • Mayor of Clarksdale, Bill Luckett
  • Mayor of Cleveland, Billy Nowell
  • Mayor of Columbus, Robert E. Smith, Sr.
  • Mayor of Drew, Jeffrey Kilpatrick
  • Mayor of Durant, Tasha Davis
  • Mayor of Fayette, Rogers W. King
  • Mayor of Greenville, Errick Simmons
  • Mayor of Hattiesburg, Johnny L. DuPree
  • Mayor of Hazlehurst, Henry Banks, Sr. 
  • Mayor of Jackson, Tony Yarber
  • Mayor of Lexington, Clint Cobbins
  • Mayor of Meridian, Percy Bland
  • Mayor of Okolona, Louise F. Cole
  • Mayor of Philadelphia, James A. Young
  • Mayor of Port Gibson, Fred Reeves
  • Mayor of Shelby, Dan Harris, Jr.
  • Mayor of Vicksburg, George Flaggs, Jr.
  • Mayor of Yazoo City, Daine Delware
  • Mayor of Alligator, Tommy Brown
  • Mayor of Benoit, Calvin E. Ward
  • Mayor of Cary, Sylvia Pepper
  • Mayor of Crowder, Stephen W. Stanton
  • Mayor of Doddsville, David Ruffin
  • Mayor of Eden, Lekisha Thomas Hogan
  • Mayor of Edwards, Marcus Wallace
  • Mayor of Friars Point, Catherine Miller
  • Mayor of Glendora, Johnny B. Thomas
  • Mayor of Gloster, Leroy Billy Johnson
  • Mayor of Isola, Bobbie Miller
  • Mayor of Itta Bena, Thelma Collins
  • Mayor of Lambert, Joe Smith
  • Mayor of Magnolia, Anthony Witherspoon
  • Mayor of Mound Bayou, Darryl Johnson
  • Mayor of Mount Olive, Robert McNair
  • Mayor of Ocean Springs, Connie Moran
  • Mayor of Pace, Levon Jackson, Sr.
  • Mayor of Potts Camp, Mary Houston
  • Mayor of Renova, Harvey Green
  • Mayor of Roxie, Michael Wright
  • Mayor of Shuqualak, Velma H. Jenkins
  • Mayor of Summit, Percy Robinson
  • Mayor of Starkville, Parker Wiseman
  • Mayor of Tchula, Zula Patterson
  • Mayor of Tupelo, Jason Shelton
  • Mayor of Tutwiler, Nichole Harris
  • Mayor of Winstonville, Henry Perkins, Jr.
  • Mayor of Rosedale, Carey Esties
Powered by Frankly