Jackson State's Bob Braddy in College Baseball HOF Class of 2016 - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Jackson State's Bob Braddy in College Baseball HOF Class of 2016

LUBBOCK, TX (CollegeBaseballHall.org) -- The winningest coach and the winningest pitcher in college baseball history, as well as one of the leading hitters of his era, highlight the 2016 National College Baseball Hall of Fame induction class.

This year's class, which will be inducted as a part of the annual Night of Champions celebration of college baseball on July 1-2 in Lubbock, Texas, is headlined by University of Texas coach Augie Garrido, winner of five national championships and the winningest coach in college baseball history, and Florida State's JD Drew, a two-time consensus All-American and winner of five national player of the year awards in 1997.

"We are excited to induct this class," said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. "It is remarkable that this is our 11th induction class and they are this accomplished."

Also included in the class are Jackson State coach Bob Braddy, the winningest baseball coach in Southwestern Athletic Conference history with 824 wins and 12 SWAC championships; Marietta College pitcher Matt DeSalvo, whose 53 wins make him the winningest college pitcher in history; Arizona State outfielder Rick Monday, named National Player of the Year in 1965 by The Sporting News; the University of Houston's Tom Paciorek, a two-time first-team All-American who led the Cougars to the finals of the 1967 College World Series; and Valdosta State coach Tommy Thomas, the winningest coach in NCAA Division II history.

Braddy compiled an 824-546 record in 28 years at Jackson State. His teams advanced to the NCAA tournament three times and he was named NAIA District Coach of the Year twice and SWAC Coach of the Year eight times. He was the first African-American to be inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2003, and he also was inducted into the JSU Sports Hall of Fame in 1985 and the SWAC Hall of Fame in 2005.

"I want thank our voting committee of over 200 strong for their time and effort in choosing this class," Gustafson said. "They represent so much history as college baseball media members, active and former coaches, retired umpires, past inductees, college baseball historians and, in several cases they are also former players, and their experiences and knowledge are reflected in this class."

Tickets for the 2016 induction are available on the Hall of Fame's website at www.collegebaseballhall.org.

Powered by Frankly