Eleven more counties added to March disaster declaration - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Eleven more counties added to March disaster declaration

PEARL, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

Governor Phil Bryant announced Thursday that 11 additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s most recent disaster declaration due to the March flooding and severe storms. Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties were declared March 25. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

“I appreciate the quick turn-around by FEMA to add these counties to the disaster declaration,” said Gov. Bryant. “We are continuing to work with local, state, federal, nonprofit and volunteer agencies to assist affected residents with any unmet needs.”

Residents and businesses affected by the disaster in the 14 counties should apply now by going to www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362 to register.

Copyright 2016 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly