Jackson State wins SWAC Men's Tennis Championship - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Jackson State wins SWAC Men's Tennis Championship

NEW ORLEANS (JSUTigers.com) – The Jackson State men’s tennis team earned the program’s fourth Southwestern Athletic Conference Championship by beating Alabama State 4-1 at City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center on Sunday.

The Tigers claimed the program’s first conference tennis title since 1998 when JSU recorded three straight title wins (1996, 1997 and 1998).

JSU’s Federico Boscarino (2016 SWAC Player of the Year) and Camilo Patino won 6-3 at No. 1 doubles, beating Patrik Cvik and Szabin Pusztay. Richie Agarwal and Federico Mendieta recorded the doubles point for JSU with a 7-5 victory over Ronald Mataba and Karlo Skvorc at No. 3 doubles.

In singles action, Boscarino beat Mataba 6-2, 6-2 at No. 2 singles. Stylianos Gkonstaris beat Pusztay 6-4, 6-1 at the No. 4 position.  Agarwal clinched the title for JSU when he beat jarred Thomspon 6-4, 6-4 at No. 6 singles.

First-year head coach Lois Alexis was named the 2016 SWAC Coach of the Year while Agarwal earned SWAC All-Tournament MVP honors. Argawal, Miguel Gomez and Federico Mendieta were all named to the SWAC All-Tournament team.

Jackson State 4, Alabama State 1
Apr 17, 2016 at New Orleans, La. (City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center) 

Singles competition
1. Takura Mlambo (ALST) def. Camilo Patino (JKST) 6-3, 6-3
2. Federico Boscarino (JKST) def. Ronald Mataba (ALST) 6-2, 6-2
3. Karlo Skvorc (ALST) vs. Miguel Martin Gomez (JKST) 5-7, 6-3, unfinished
4. Stylianos Gkontsaris (JKST) def. Szabin Pusztay (ALST) 6-4, 6-1
5. Patrik Cvik (ALST) vs. Federico Mendieta (JKST) 6-0, 3-6, unfinished
6. Richie Agarwal (JKST) def. Jarred Thompson (ALST) 6-4, 6-4

Doubles competition
1. Federico Boscarino/Camilo Patino (JKST) def. Patrik Cvik/Szabin Pusztay (ALST) 6-3
2. Adam Coyne/Takura Mlambo (ALST) def. Miguel Martin Gomez/Hernan Geria (JKST) 6-1
3. Richie Agarwal/Federico Mendieta (JKST) def. Ronald Mataba/Karlo Skvorc (ALST) 7-5
Powered by Frankly