FLASHBACK 2005: Assaf, Case, Duncan among first AP Hall of Fame - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

FLASHBACK 2005: Assaf, Case, Duncan among first AP Hall of Fame inductees

Woodie Assaf (Source: WLBT) Woodie Assaf (Source: WLBT)
Bert Case (Source: WLBT) Bert Case (Source: WLBT)
Jim Duncan (Source: WLBT) Jim Duncan (Source: WLBT)
Walter Saddler (Source: WLBT) Walter Saddler (Source: WLBT)
Randy Bell (Source: WLBT) Randy Bell (Source: WLBT)

FLASHBACK to APRIL 25, 2005: Woodie Assaf, Bert Case, Jim Duncan, Walter Saddler and Randy Bell become the first inductees into the Mississippi Associated Press Broadcasters Hall of Fame for 2004. The Hall of Fame had been created to honor broadcasters who'd worked in Mississippi with special distinction for at least five years.

Of that first "class," all but one had spent most or all of their career at WLBT.

Assaf was the station's legendary weatherman who had retired in 2001. He had begun work at the station in 1945, when it was only a radio station (WJDX). Assaf died in 2009.

Case was WLBT's noon and 5 p.m. anchor and reporter who had worked at all three Jackson television stations. He had also served as news director at all three. Case retired from WLBT in 2014 and joined WAPT on a part-time basis later that year. He died in early 2016 after more than 50 years in broadcasting.

Duncan was WLBT's chief photographer for many years, joining the station's original parent company, Lamar Life Insurance, back in the 1960s. He oversaw the station's migration from film to videotape, and then to digital. He retired in 2015.

Saddler was an anchor, reporter and news director at WLBT from the early 1970s until 1984. He then spent more than a decade at WJTV.

Bell remains Jackson radio's most-awarded journalist, winning some of the most prestigious awards in radio. He started with WJDX in 1975 and has been on the air ever since. He reports the news on Jackson's iHeartRadio stations, including Miss 103, Z-106, and Hallelujah 95.5.

Many others have been added to the Hall of Fame in the years since that first class. Here's a list from the Mississippi Associated Press Broadcasters Association:

2015: Robert Littleton, Jr., of WLBT and Trang Pham-Bui of WLOX

2014: Wilson Stribling of WLBT, Karen Abernathy of WLOX and David Elliott of WLOX

2013: Jerry Brooks of WJTV, Rob Jay of WLBT and Mike Reader of WLOX.

2012: Bob Burks of WLBT, Greg McNease of WLOX and Shirley Mixon of MPB.

2011: Clarence Turner of WAPT and A.J. Giardina of WLOX.

2010: Jerome DeLoach of WLBT and Terry Smith of WTVA.

2009: Ronald Harrist of The Associated Press, Doug Walker of WLOX, Dick Rice of WTVA and Stephanie Bell-Flynt of WLBT.

2008: Dennis Smith of WLBT, Maggie Wade of WLBT and Jeff Lawson of WLOX.

2007: James Foster of WAPT and Bobby Allen of WLOX.

2006: Marsha Thompson of WLBT, Steve Gill of WAPT, Randy Swan of WDAM and Howard Ballou of WLBT.

2005: Howard Lett, Michael Rubenstein of WLBT, John Johnson of WTOK, Dave Vincent of WLOX and Walt Grayson of WLBT.

2004: Woodie Assaf of WLBT, Randy Bell of WMSI-WQJQ, Bert Case of WLBT, Jim Duncan of WLBT and Walter Saddler of WLBT, WJTV

Copyright 2016 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly