Gov. Bryant signs 4 school district consolidation bills - - Jackson, MS

Gov. Bryant signs 4 school district consolidation bills

Source: WLBT archives Source: WLBT archives
JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

On May 11, Governor Phil Bryant signed four school district consolidation bills that will merge eight Mississippi school districts into four.

"We need to make sure we are as efficient as we can be in state government. That includes making sure we focus on getting resources into the classrooms, where they’re most needed,” Gov. Bryant said.

The four bills that were signed today include:

·        HB 987: Consolidates Leflore County and Greenwood school districts

·        SB 2495: Consolidates Montgomery County and Winona school districts

·        SB 2500: Consolidates Lumberton and adjoining school districts

·        HB 926: Administrative consolidation of Holmes County and Durant school districts

All four bills will become law on July 1, 2016.

Copyright 2016 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly