Rebels picked 9th, Bulldogs 10th, Weatherspoon named to Preseaso - - Jackson, MS

Rebels picked 9th, Bulldogs 10th, Weatherspoon named to Preseason All-SEC Team

WLBT archives WLBT archives

Press Release from Mississippi State & the Southeastern Conference

Kentucky was predicted to win the 2017 Southeastern Conference men’s basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Wildcats are the overall preseason favorite for the 12th time since the 1998-99 season.

Arkansas senior forward Moses Kingsley was the choice of the media for SEC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. Georgia’s J.J. Frazier & Yante Maten; Kentucky’s Edrice “Bam” Adebayo, Isaiah Briscoe, De’Aaron Fox & Malik Monk; and Texas A&M’s Tyler Davis also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Kingsley, Frazier, Adebayo, Fox and Davis were each All-SEC First Team selections. Maten, Briscoe and Monk were second team picks along with Florida’s KeVaughn Allen, LSU’s Antonio Blakeney, Vanderbilt’s Luke Kornet, and Mississippi State's Quinndary Weatherspoon.

The Canton native led the team in steals last season with 42 and was third in scoring, averaging 12.0 points a game.

His first year at MSU, he was tabbed to the SEC All-Freshman team and was named SEC Freshman of the week twice.

“It’s really exciting to be named All-SEC,” Weatherspoon said. “I’m looking forward to see what this season will bring our team. While this is an individual award, I wouldn’t have accomplished anything without my teammates. There are a lot of great names on this list, and to be mentioned among them is an honor.”

First Team All-SEC

Moses Kingsley – Arkansas, F, 6-10, 230, Sr., Abuja, Nigeria         

J.J. Frazier – Georgia, G, 5-10, 155, Sr., Glennville, Ga.    

Edrice “Bam” Adebayo – Kentucky, F, 6-10, 260, Fr., Little Washington, N.C.

De’Aaron Fox – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 187, Fr., Houston, Texas

Tyler Davis – Texas A&M, C, 6-10, 270, So., Plano, Texas

Second Team All-SEC

KeVaughn Allen – Florida, G, 6-2, 183, So., Little Rock, Ark.

Yante Maten – Georgia, F, 6-8, 240, Jr., Pontiac, Mich.

Isaiah Briscoe – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 210, So., Newark, N.J.

Malik Monk – Kentucky, G, 6-3, 200, Fr., Lepanto, Ark.

Antonio Blakeney – LSU, G, 6-4, 190, So., Sarasota, Fla.

Quinndary Weatherspoon – Mississippi State, G, 6-4, 202, So., Canton, Miss.

Luke Kornet – Vanderbilt, F, 7-1, 250, Sr., Lantana, Texas

SEC Player of the Year

Moses Kingsley, Arkansas

Preseason Media Poll

1.            Kentucky

2.            Florida

3.            Texas A&M

4.            Georgia

5.            Arkansas

6.            Vanderbilt

7.            Alabama

8.            South Carolina

9.            Ole Miss

10.          Mississippi State

11.          Auburn

12.          LSU

13.          Tennessee

14.          Missouri

Powered by Frankly