Delta State QB Tyler Sullivan named a Campbell Trophy finalist - - Jackson, MS

Delta State QB Tyler Sullivan named a Campbell Trophy finalist

Press Release from Delta State Athletics

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the finalists for the 2016 William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments® and prominently displayed at its official home inside the New York Athletic Club. The trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation and Delta State University quarterback Tyler Sullivan was one of the 12 finalists named by the NFF.

The 12 finalists will each receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. At the event, one member of the class will be declared the winner of the 27th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Selected from a nationwide pool of 156 exceptional semifinalists from among all NCAA divisions and the NAIA, the 12 finalists are:

Chris Beaschler LB Dayton 3.72 Mechanical Engineering
Tim Crawley WR San Jose State 3.78 Business Management
DeVon Edwards S Duke 3.35 Psychology
Brooks Ellis LB Arkansas 3.82 Exercise Science
Carter Hanson LB Saint John’s (Minn.) 4.00 Business Leadership
Taysom Hill QB BYU 3.45 Finance
Ryan Janvion S Wake Forest 3.53 Business Management
Zay Jones WR East Carolina 3.56 Communications
Cooper Rush QB Central Michigan 3.86 Actuarial Science
Karter Schult DL Northern Iowa 3.87 Exercise Science
Tyler Sullivan QB Delta State (Miss.) 3.68 Biology
Zach Terrell QB Western Michigan 3.66 Finance

“We are extremely proud to announce this year’s finalists for the Campbell Trophy, who make up the National Scholar-Athlete Class,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. They serve as living examples of our mission of Building Leaders Through Football, and we are excited to honor their hard work and accomplishments with postgraduate scholarships.”

The recipient of the Campbell Trophy will also be honored at the NFF Board of Directors meeting and at a reception hosted by the New York Athletic Club on Wednesday, Dec. 7. He will then fly to Atlanta to be recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN at the College Football Hall of Fame on Dec. 8. Finally, as part of the NFF’s partnership with the College Football Playoff (CFP), the Campbell Trophy winner will be recognized on the field during the CFP National Championship on Jan. 9, 2017, in Tampa, Fla.

Copyright 2016 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly