Mississippi denied federal disaster assistance for Holmes/Montgo - MSNewsNow.com - Jackson, MS

Mississippi denied federal disaster assistance for Holmes/Montgomery Co. residents

Source: WLBT Source: WLBT
Source: WLBT Source: WLBT
JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

Governor Phil Bryant was notified today that Mississippi’s request for Individual Assistance in Holmes and Montgomery counties was denied by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

In the denial letter, FEMA said, “…it has been determined that the impact to the individuals and households from this event was not of the severity and magnitude to warrant the designation of Individual Assistance…” 

Gov. Bryant made the request May 11 to help residents make repairs and rebuild homes damaged during severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that hit the areas on April 30, 2017.

“I want to assure the people of Holmes and Montgomery counties that we will do everything possible at the state level to help,” Gov. Bryant said. “We will partner with nonprofit, community and faith-based organizations to make recovery as swift and painless as possible.”

Local governments and non-profit organizations in Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants for things like repairs or replacement of infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders.

READ MORE: Federal help is on the way for storm ravaged Durant

READ MORE: Nine Mississippi counties declared federal disaster areas

Copyright 2017 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly