More Honors for Rebel Duo - - Jackson, MS

December 16, 2008

More Honors for Rebel Duo

OXFORD, Miss. -- Ole Miss' Peria Jerry and Michael Oher were both honored as First Team All-Americans today, as the Associated Press released its college football All-America teams. It marks the first year in school history to have two Rebels selected to the AP first team.

In addition, Ole Miss head coach Houston Nutt was named one of eight finalists for the Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coach of the Year award, as announced by the Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association. The winner will be voted on by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) and named live at an awards dinner benefiting the American Heart Association on Jan. 15, 2009 at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston.

Other finalists include Mack Brown, Texas; Turner Gill, Buffalo; Mike Leach, Texas Tech; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Nick Saban, Alabama; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma and Kyle Whittingham, Utah.

Nutt, who was honored as SEC Coach of the Year by the AP last week, was also recently chosen as the AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year. This marks the fifth time in Nutt's career to earn region top coaching honors from the American Football Coaches Association.

Jerry, a senior defensive tackle, picks up First Team All-America distinction for the first time in his career. The Batesville, Miss., native had been chosen to the Rivals second team earlier this month. Jerry was a four-time SEC Player of the Week honoree this year and tops the conference in tackles for loss.

Oher has been a consensus First Team All-American offensive tackle this postseason. Led by the senior from Memphis, the Ole Miss line ranks fourth in the SEC in fewest sacks and has helped the Rebels' rushing offense pile up the third-most yards on the ground.




Quarterback -- Sam Bradford, sophomore, 6-foot-4, 215 pounds, Oklahoma.

Running backs -- Shonn Greene, junior, 5-11, 235, Iowa; Javon Ringer, senior, 5-9, 202, Michigan State.

Wide receiver -- Michael Crabtree, sophomore, 6-3, 214, Texas Tech; Dez Bryant, sophomore, 6-2, 210, Oklahoma State.

Tackles -- Andre Smith, junior, 6-5, 330, Alabama; Michael Oher, senior, 6-5, 318, Ole Miss.

Guards -- Duke Robinson, senior, 6-5, 330, Oklahoma; Herman Johnson, senior, 6-5, 350, LSU.

Center -- Antoine Caldwell, senior, 6-3, 305, Alabama.

Tight end -- Chase Coffman, senior, 6-6, 245, Missouri.

All-purpose player -- Jeremy Maclin, sophomore, 6-1, 200, Missouri.

Kicker -- Louie Sakoda, senior, 5-9, 178, Utah.


Ends -- Aaron Maybin, sophomore, 6-4, 236, Penn State; Brian Orakpo, senior, 6-4, 260, Texas.

Tackles -- Terrence Cody, junior, 6-5, 365, Alabama; Peria Jerry, senior, 6-2, 290, Ole Miss.

Linebackers -- James Laurinaitis, senior, 6-3, 240, Ohio State; Rey Maualuga, senior, 6-2, 260, Southern California; Brandon Spikes, junior, 6-3, 243, Florida.

Cornerbacks -- Alphonso Smith, senior, 5-9, 190, Wake Forest; Malcolm Jenkins, senior, 6-1, 201, Ohio State.

Safeties -- Taylor Mays, junior, 6-3, 230, Southern California; Eric Berry, sophomore, 5-11, 195, Tennessee.

Punter -- Kevin Huber, senior, 6-1, 220, Cincinnati.



Quarterback -- Colt McCoy, junior, Texas.

Running backs -- Knowshon Moreno, sophomore, Georgia; Donald Brown, junior, Connecticut.

Wide receivers -- Austin Collie, junior, BYU; Jarrett Dillard, senior, Rice.

Tackles -- Eugene Monroe, senior, Virginia; Andy Levitre, senior, Oregon State.

Guards --Brandon Carter, junior, Texas Tech; Trevor Canfield, senior, Cincinnati.

Center -- A.Q. Shipley, senior, Penn State.

Tight end -- Jermaine Gresham, junior, Oklahoma.

All-purpose player -- Percy Harvin, junior, Florida.

Kicker -- Graham Gano, senior, Florida State.


Ends -- Everette Brown, junior, Florida State; Jerry Hughes, junior, TCU.

Tackles -- Gerald McCoy, sophomore, Oklahoma; Mitch King, senior, Iowa.

Linebackers -- Scott McKillop, senior, Pittsburgh; Brian Cushing, senior, Southern California; Aaron Curry, senior, Wake Forest.

Cornerback -- Victor "Macho" Harris, senior, Virginia Tech; D.J. Moore, junior, Vanderbilt.

Safeties -- Rashad Johnson, senior, Alabama; Trimane Goddard, senior, North Carolina.

Punter -- T.J. Conley, senior, Idaho.



Quarterback -- Tim Tebow, junior, Florida.

Running backs -- Kendall Hunter, sophomore, Oklahoma State; Jacquizz Rodgers, freshman, Oregon State.

Wide receivers -- Kenny Britt, junior, Rutgers; Jordan Shipley, senior, Texas.

Tackles -- Jason Smith, senior, Baylor; Phil Loadholt, senior, Oklahoma.

Guards -- Louis Vasquez, senior, Texas Tech; Rich Ohrnberger, senior, Penn State.

Center -- Alex Mack, senior, California.

Tight end -- Rob Gronkowski, sophomore, Arizona.

All-purpose player -- Derrick Williams, senior, Penn State.

Kicker -- Kai Forbath, sophomore, UCLA.


Ends -- Nick Reed, senior, Oregon; George Selvie, junior, South Florida.

Tackles -- Fili Moala, senior, Southern California; B.J. Raji, senior, Boston College.

Linebackers -- Mark Herzlich, junior, Boston College; Sean Witherspoon, junior, Missouri; Michael Tauiliili, senior, Duke (tie); Rolando McClain, sophomore, Alabama (tie).

Cornerback -- Vontae Davis, junior, Illinois; Mike Mickens, senior, Cincinnati.

Safeties -- Myron Rolle, junior, Florida State; Nic Harris, senior, Oklahoma.

Punter -- Pat McAfee, senior, West Virginia.


Ole Miss Athletics Media Relations


Powered by Frankly